How are aircraft approach categories calculated?

Purpose: This SAFO serves to ensure aircraft operators are aware that the aircraft approach category used during an instrument approach is determined by the aircraft’s Vref at the maximum certificated landing weight or 1.3 Vso at the maximum certificated landing weight.

How are approach categories determined?

Your approach category deals with more than just the circling approach. It determines your maximum speeds, maneuvering airspace, and obstacle clearance on approach as well as missed approach. It is always based on your maximum certificated landing weight, though that can be changed.

What are the three aircraft categories?

Aircraft Classifications

  • Airplane – Single-engine land or sea or multi-engine land or sea.
  • Rotorcraft – helicopter or gyroplane.
  • Lighter-Than-Air – balloons or airships.
  • Powered Parachutes – land or sea.
  • Weight-Shift-Control – land or sea.

What is aircraft approach?

Approach: The phase of flight starting when an airworthy aircraft under the control of the flight crew descends below 5,000 feet AGL with the intention to conduct an approach and ending when the aircraft crosses the approach end of the landing runway (runway threshold) or at the commencement of a go around maneuver.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Can I use a Visa gift card to buy airline tickets?

What is a Category 1 aircraft?

“Category I (CAT I) operation” means a precision instrument approach and landing with a decision height not lower than 200 f. Page 1. “Category I (CAT I) operation” means a precision instrument approach and landing with a. decision height not lower than 200 feet (60 meters) and with either a visibility of not less than.

What criteria are aircraft approach categories grouped by?

Aircraft approach category means a grouping of aircraft based on a speed of VREF at the maximum certified landing weight, if specified, or if VREF is not specified, 1.3VSO at the maximum certified landing weight.

What approach category is A320?

a) For “straight-in approaches”, the aircraft approach category to be used for the various A320, A330, and A340 related aircraft is as follows: A318, A319, A320 – Category C. A321 – Category C or D, as dependent on the Maximum Certificated Landing Weight (MLW) of the various related A321 aircraft models.

How many categories of aircraft are there?

The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) certifies three types of aviation products: Aircraft. Aircraft Engines. Propellers.

What are the different categories of aircraft structure?

There are several categories of aircraft:

  • Fixed-wing Airplane.
  • Rotorcraft.
  • Glider.
  • Lighter-than-air vehicles.

What are the different categories of aviation?

Types of General Aviation

  • Aerial Firefighting. Aviation and firefighting have a long history. …
  • Agricultural Aviation. …
  • Business and Personal Travel. …
  • Law Enforcement. …
  • Medical Transport. …
  • Overnight Delivery. …
  • Search and Rescue. …
  • Sightseeing.

What are the different types of approaches?

Types of approaches

  • Visual approach. …
  • Contact approach. …
  • Charted visual flight procedures (CVFP) …
  • RNAV approach. …
  • ILS approach. …
  • VOR approach. …
  • NDB approach. …
  • Radar approach.
IT IS INTERESTING:  How can you tell if a Southwest flight is full?

What are the requirements for a contact approach?

A contact approach will only be issued if the aircraft is operating clear of clouds with at least 1-mile of flight visibility, with a reasonable expectation of continuing to the destination airport under those conditions.

What makes an approach a precision approach?

A precision approach is an instrument approach and landing using precision lateral and vertical guidance with minima as determined by the category of operation. [1] In contrast, a nonprecision standard instrument approach procedure only provides horizontal guidance.

What is a Class 3 aircraft?

Class III airplanes, which typically are all Part 23 aircraft equal to or more than 6,000 pounds. Class IV airplanes, which typically are commuter category airplanes. All weights are based on maximum certificated gross takeoff weight.

What is a Category 2 airport?

Class II airports are those airports that serve scheduled operations of small air carrier aircraft and unscheduled operations of large air carrier aircraft. Class II airports are not permitted to serve scheduled large air carrier operations.

What is a Category II ILS approach?

Category II ILS System: An Instrument Landing System (ILS) which provides usable guidance information from the coverage limit of the ILS to the point at which the localizer course line intersects the glide path at a height of 50 feet or less above the horizontal plane containing the ILS runway.